Making car Setup for Newbies (1 Viewer)

Dama_The_Crow

Community Member
Reaction score
I searched a bit this forum and didn't see any setup theme for beginners (yap, after 1 year of sim racing I am still confused and making setup is pain in the a**). I watched Hobb's guides to Project cars (great job), but it really takes time to get used to all that, and many of us don't have that time to dedicate for "setting up" a car for particular race.
Yes, I go to setup base page, but many of that setups are not just what it suits for me particulary.

So I hope that here are many people that have knowlege and they are willing to share some tips for future races in terms of setup the car.

Here I found a video of a professional racer (Nicki Thiim) where he is explaining in iRacing how to do setup, maybe it would be helpfull for some of us:

Darksi

Manager of RSR
Staff
#TeamRSR
Reaction score
I agree with Dama on this aswell, I know it will probably come with time, but i am just starting out here at RSR, and with Racing in a group again after a number of years off ( i used to race on race07 and could always find a setup for a car to download). It would be useful to get an understanding of how the setups work.

Tom

Staff
#TeamRSR
Reaction score
As a visual learner, this series helped me out immensely.

I've read some articles in the past to try and understand vehicle dynamics & tuning, but this video series helped me grasp it properly. Dampers are a bit of a black art for me still, but I can usually make good steps personalising car setups to my liking fairly quickly now.

Darksi

Manager of RSR
Staff
#TeamRSR
Reaction score
brilliant thank you, i will give them a watch, i part watched that first one and already started to make sense. Its trying to get an understanding of what each area does and what to look for to get the best balance.